img_0447-1

My Top Ten Books So Far This Year

Hey guys!

So today I thought I would share with you some of my favourite books so far this year! In December I will make an updated version adding any more books that I have read and really enjoyed. Hopefully you find this list helpful!

10. The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin: 

This book was about a young girl called Suzy who lost her best friend in a drowning accident. It’s all about how Suzy learns to cope with the loss and includes flashbacks showing how the two friends grew apart. I really enjoyed it and thought it was unlike anything I’d read before.


9. Dragon Rider by Cornelian Funke:

This book is about a dragon, a human boy and many other creatures who are introduced later on in the book. They travel the world trying to find a magical place that has never been found while being chased by an evil enemy… I thought this book was really descriptive and good for any age!


8. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig:

Nix lives with her father on a ship that can navigate through time. Follow her on a journey to find her mother who died many years ago… I loved this book! It was such a creative idea and written in a very realistic way. I can’t wait to read the next one in the series!



7. The Accident Season by  Moïra Fowley-Doyle:

Every year on the same month accidents and often tragedies happen to Cara and her family but this year Cara wants to know why. This book is really gripping and often kind of creepy. I honestly couldn’t put it down though and I always wanted to know what was going to happen next.


6.Magnus Chase and The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan:

Magnus Chase’s day didn’t really start out how he planned when he found out he was related to the Asgard gods. Not to mention he also died sending him to an afterlife he’d never really knew actually existed. Follow Magnus as he battles various monsters and discovers who is real family is. I read this book straight away as it is written by one of my favourite authors, Rick Riordan, and I really liked it. It was really well written and had many humorous moments.


5. Love Letters To The Dead by Ava Delaira:

This book was about a girl named Laurel who recently lost her older sister May. For an English assignment in her new school she had to write a letter to a famous person who had passed away. From there she goes on to write a whole bunch of letters. She writes about love, loss, friendship and moving on. Along the way she begins to learn to let go and embrace life. I found that this book was really touching and often very emotional. I thought that the characters were really realistic and I didn’t want the book to end.


4. Arsenic For Tea by Robin Stevens:

This book is the second in the series and I’d recommend you read the first one before this. Anyway, this story is about two girls, Hazel and Daisy, who have been friends ever since they met at boarding school. In this book they are staying at Daisy’s home for the holidays. As it is Daisy’s birthday her mother organises a big party with many guests. But when one of the guests dies mysteriously Hazel and Daisy must solve the case and quick before the murderer strikes again… I was very excited for this book as the first in the series was really good. I found this one just as interesting and it is written in a way that makes you want to keep reading. 


3. Everyday by David Levithan:

Everyday A wakes up in a different body. He’s never got to have his own life and instead has to live in everyone else’s. By now he’s got used to it but one day he possesses the body of Justin and meets a girl called Rihannon. Before he knows it he has fallen in love with her and now he has someone who he wants to be with…everyday. This book has such a creative idea and was written really well. I felt like I knew and could relate to A even though he was always living someone else’s life.


2. If I Stay by Gayle a Forman:

Mia has a normal life until one day a dreadful accident tears her whole family apart. This book follows Mia after the accident as she walks around the hospital like a ghost of herself that no one can see. It also includes many flashbacks of life beforehand and how it is influencing her choice of whether to stay or not on the earth hence the title if I stay. I found this book really emotional and tragic but I really loved the characters and the plot. There were many big themes in this like loss and love and I started to realise what it must feel like for victims of accidents like the one Mia goes through. I also read the second one in this series and loved it. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who likes romance and realistic books.

 

1. Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by Jk Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany.

The eighth Harry Potter story nineteen years later. This book is all about the relationship of Harry and his son Albus and how Albus copes with being the son of such a famous wizard. Let’s just say there are a lot of plot twists and lots and lots of magic. I was so excited when this came out and I read it a little bit too quickly.😋 It was just as good as all the Harry Potter books and the plot was amazing! I really would like to see this play live!


So that is my top then books so far this year. I hope you enjoyed reading this and maybe you will read one or more of these books.

Anyway that’s all for now!

Lots of love,

Ladyblogger💙

3 thoughts on “My Top Ten Books So Far This Year

Leave a Reply

